MEET THE FREAKS!

We're all mad here

The time has come. The clock has struck midnight. The shadows are creeping in, wolves are howling at the moon and dead things are stirring in their graves.

This Halloween, we bring you…

The Midnight Type.

They're Here

There’s a special kind of darkness that affects the midnight type, those kinds of people who delight in the macabre, see exotic where others see ugly, know blackness as the best kind of light. The midnight type comes alive when night falls, where their daytime shine becomes a nighttime glimmer, a glinting kind of beauty with a dangerous sharpness. The midnight type know their kind. We’re all alike in that we’re not alike. And you want to see what we do next.

Yes, it will be writing-related. Yes, you will love it. We’re word weavers who walk on the edge.

Meet us, greet us, and don’t try to eat us…


Let’s kick things off with an Interview with the Vampire. Chynna-Blue, tell us why you chose to be The Vamp.

As soon as I knew we were choosing alter egos, there was only one choice for me. I am, and always will be, a vampire at heart. I’d trade anything to become a creature of the night. Even you. Yeah. You heard me.

bite me vampire gif

Describe your personal seventh ring of hell.

A world with no books, where the only programmes on TV are crappy reality shows, sports and Judge Judy. Everyone wears pink all the time and no one swears. Vegetables are the only food. Crocs and socks with sandals are in fashion. There’s no such thing as competition because we don’t want to make people feel inadequate so no one ever wins and everyone gets a trophy. The only shops are those odd ones that just sell cheese and candles. Coffee is poisonous. OH GOD KILL ME NOW.


Now for our blonde bombshell. Kristen Strassel, tell us why you chose to be The Jezebel. 

We all think of The Jezebel as a straight up floosie, but she’s actually more complicated than that. Jezebel is said to have persecuted the prophets of Yahweh, and to have fabricated false evidence of blasphemy against an innocent landowner who refused to sell his property to King Ahab, causing the landowner to be put to death. For these transgressions against the God and people of Israel, the Bible relates, Jezebel met a gruesome death – thrown out of a window by members of her own court retinue, and the flesh of her corpse eaten by stray dogs. But since she knew they were coming for her, she got herself all dolled up before her death.  This led to prostitutes wearing cosmetics, or becoming “painted ladies.”  I loved the controversy, the fact that she was associated with witchcraft, and of course, the makeup.

Jezebel

Jezebel

You’re trapped in a Greek myth. Which myth is it, and why?

The Muses.  Calliope is the muse of lyrical poetry. I chose to write my novels about musicians and muses, even naming my main character Calliope. After all, what’s sexier than inspiring someone else to create art?


Onto our very own Jinx, Louise Gornall

You’re a character in a story. We don’t know who you are or where you’ve come from. What back story would you give yourself?

I’m a small town  girl with a fast food fetish  and  a  picture  of Benjamin Barnes in my wallet. For six years I made a crappy living singing on the karaoke circuit. My heart has been broken a thousand times…speaking of which, I had to leave my former home because I fell in with a “questionable crowd”. Cult, some  of  the  locals  would  say. I thought it was game we played when we got together. You know, drink a few beers, joke about waking the dead, cast some crazy spells. So one day this girl, we’ll call her Red, said she could teach my ex a lesson for cheating on me. I eat  the  idea  up because that jerk could use a lesson. She pricks my finger, mutters a little, then  makes me bury a photo of him in my backyard. Anyways, he turns up dead two days later, and the cops are throwing around phrases like “questionable circumstances”. I’m not saying Red’s responsible, but she is a widow, twice over. So, yeah new city, fresh start and absolutely no dabbling in the occult.

And why did you choose to be The Jinx?

I picked Jinx because I’m cursed. For reals, I go through some serious bouts of rotten luck, which seem to be contagious…and I thought hell, why not just embrace it?! So I did!


And now, for our personal harbinger of doom, Julie Hutchings – tell us why you chose to be The Harpy.

The harpy mythology is an ugly one. Hideous women with the lower bodies and wings of birds, known for torture and masochism. Pair this with their home in literature and art, the Wood of Suicides, and they are a dismal creature indeed. Monstrosity and gore intrigue me, and I love to find something appealing about it that makes you think twice about how ugly it really is. It’s why I created my own version of the harpy world, and my own take on how beautiful a thing like the harpy could be. Until my Harpy is unleashed on the world, you get me.

The Wood of Suicides

The Wood of Suicides

Your life turns ‘Pleasantville’ and you become trapped in a movie, but you get to choose which. Your choices are either Texas Chainsaw Massacre or Interview with the Vampire. Which do you choose, and why?

You would think I’d say Interview With the Vampire, right, because of the vampire thing I do, and my love of vampires, and Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise, because he’s still hot even if he is nuts, and because New Orleans is gorgeous in that movie, and haunting. You would think these things. But, because I always have to do the contradictory thing, it would be The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, and here is why:

1.  I would so get away.

2.  If I didn’t get away, I would scare the fuck out of Leatherface with how scary my own thoughts are. For example, sure, human skin mask, but what about glistening, stunning necklaces made of braided veins? What about the ladies, Leatherface? Think of the ladies.

3.  Come on. If I was going to be one or the other, who do you think I would be? Lunatic murderer or crybaby victim? We all know I’m kind of a serial killer at heart.

4.  I do love a quiet, old farmhouse.

5.  As my husband said, he’d like to believe he was an 18th century gentleman roaming the streets looking for sexy adventure, but the truth is his life is a bloodbath and a shit show.

don't fuck with the original gif


And here’s our resident werewolf, Ruth Shedwick. Ruth, why did you choose to be The Were?

We’ve seen a lot of different Werewolf transformations over the years, and what isn’t surprising is that there are two distinct forms – the half human half wolf walking on two legs, and the complete transformation into wolf. Which one are you? Wolf all the way! Does it hurt? You bet! So why were? Control, having complete control over your power, harnessing it and being able to go postal and have the perfect excuse.

Tell us, what’s your deepest fear?

Nothing scares me. I am the one prowling the shadows, watching your every move, breathing in your scent, taking my time enjoying the chase; I am your deepest fear. Running out of bloodied prime rib eye steak, now that’s a scary thought!


Grab your fire extinguishers, because here comes The Dragon. Laura Hughes, why did you choose your alter ego?

I decided on the Dragon because I love the whole idea of dragons in general, but the main character of the series I’ve been working on for the last several years happens to be a dragon. I’ve spent an awful lot of time living in her head, and I might be taking on a few of her personality quirks myself. I haven’t grown scales and I can’t breathe fire, yet, but I’m working on it.

Dragons are known for being a little hot under the collar, a wee bit possessive, and a skosh antisocial. In my world, dragons are also fiercely loyal and unfaltering bad ass motherfuckers who will charge the very gates of hell to protect what they believe in. They understand what it means to lose everything, and that’s what drives them to hold on with everything they have to whatever happiness they can wring out of life. Dragons are passionate beasts. Their tender hearts are hidden behind a thousand layers of armor, a hardened and prickly shell to ward off the true evils of the world.

To paraphrase Robert Frost, if you had to choose, would you rather die by ice or by fire?

Knowing what I do of dragons, fire might seem the obvious choice. Live by the sword, die by the sword. Then again, the fire that comes so naturally to a dragon might only be quashed by the coldest ice. As the Dragon, I don’t think I’d prefer to go one way or the other (or at all, for that matter!), but ice might be the more poetic choice in the end. Dragons live by fire, and perhaps in the end death should come as the fire is subsumed into ice.

Fire and Ice


Last, but by no means least, we bring you one hell of an Incubus. Devine in name and divine in nature, heeeere’s Jessie!

Why did you choose to be The Incubus?

I chose to embody The Incubus in love for my character, Lord Caden. There is a ruthless and shameless darkness in him with which I connect and adore. He, The Incubus, is irresistible and invincible, brilliant and enigmatic. I describe him once as the night incarnate, and again as the eternity of manifest dark. Of all my characters, I feel him the deepest. Thus I am The Incubus, on the page and in my heart.

If you were a book, what would your genre be?

Dark, romantic fantasy.

Phantom


We’re the Jack Skellingtons of the writing world, the Sallys. So stick around. You might be scared, horrified or inappropriately amused – but you might love it.

3 responses to “MEET THE FREAKS!

Leave a Reply

